Perth Mint Lunar Series III Silver Coins


Perth Mint Silver Lunar Series at SD Bullion

As the Chinese culture spreads and popularizes with immigrants worldwide and the Chinese economy grows to a prominent position, many mints and refineries started to produce products, including coins and bars, that incorporate part of their millennial history.

The first one to do so was the Perth Mint in Australia, one of the countries that accommodates the largest number of Chinese immigrants. They launched the Lunar Series in 1996, a collection of gold and silver coins themed around the Chinese Lunar Calendar. Each year, the coin’s design showcases one of the twelve Zodiac animals.

With the astounding success of the series, the Perth Mint carried on releasing the Lunar Series II in 2008 and the Lunar Series III in 2020.

The Chinese Zodiac Signs

The Twelve Zodiac Signs, or Sheng Xiao, represent a twelve-year cycle in the Chinese Lunar Calendar. Each animal corresponds to one year. However, the year is not the same as in the Gregorian calendar, starting on January 1st and ending on December 31st. The months are actually divided according to the phases of the moon.

Zodiac Animals

Chinese Name and Character

Sign Occurrences since the 1960s


鼠 (shǔ)

1960, 1972, 1984, 1996, 2008, 2020, 2032


牛 (niú)

1961, 1973, 1985, 1997, 2009, 2021, 2033


虎 (hǔ)

1962, 1974, 1986, 1998, 2010, 2022, 2034


兔 (tù)

1963, 1975, 1987, 1999, 2011, 2023, 2035


龙 (lóng)

1964, 1976, 1988, 2000, 2012, 2024, 2036


蛇 (shé)

1965, 1977, 1989, 2001, 2013, 2025, 2037


马 (mǎ)

1966, 1978, 1990, 2002, 2014, 2026, 2038


羊 (yáng)

1967, 1979, 1991, 2003, 2015, 2027, 2039


猴 (hóu)

1968, 1980, 1992, 2004, 2016, 2028, 2040


鸡 (jī)

1969, 1981, 1993, 2005, 2017, 2029, 2041


狗 (gǒu)

1970, 1982, 1994, 2006, 2018, 2030, 2042


猪 (zhū)

1971, 1983, 1995, 2007, 2019, 2031, 2043



Another difference between the Chinese and the Western zodiac is that the animals do not represent constellations. In fact, the myth surrounding the origin of the Chinese zodiac is associated with the Jade Emperor, one of the representations of the first god in Chinese culture.

According to folklore, he called out a race of all the animals in his kingdom and the first 12 to get to him would represent the zodiac signs. The rat was the first, that is why it represents the beginning of the twelve-year cycle, ending with the pig.

The Silver Lunar Series

The Perth Mint has done a marvelous job in creating diversified options for investors and collectors. The series includes the following weights:

  • 1 Kilo;
  • 5 oz;
  • 2 oz;
  • 1 oz;
  • 1/2 oz

In addition, you can find versions with a proof finish, highlighting the amazing designs and attention to detail the Perth Mint always bestows on their products.

About the Perth Mint

During the British colonial rule over Australia, three branches of the Royal Mint were established in the country in order to profit from the vast gold mines that were found in the country: the Sidney Mint, the Melbourne Mint and the Perth Mint.

Of all the three, only the Perth Mint remains in activity today. It is now a state-owned entity of the Western Australian government. Therefore, it has no direct affiliation with the Royal Australian Mint, the official federal government facility. Nevertheless, thanks to the Coinage Act of 1965, every coin produced in the Perth Mint enjoys legal tender status.

The Perth Mint launched the first Lunar Series in 1996 and is now on the third edition of the program. It is also the Perth Mint that produces the highly regarded Gold Kangaroo and Silver Kangaroo.

Purchase Perth Mint Silver Lunar Series from SD Bullion

You can find a vast selection of Perth Mint products at SD Bullion, including the products above from the Silver Lunar Series. Please contact our customer service at 1(800)294-8732 or through our live web-chat if you have any questions. We will be happy to assist you.